Punjab govt, opposition fail to reach consensus on caretaker CM

LAHORE, (SANA): Punjab government and the opposition in Punjab could not reach consensus on a name for the position of caretaker chief minister in the Punjab and the matter is likely to be delegated to a parliamentary committee.

A meeting of the committee has reportedly been summoned for 11 am today (Sunday) at the Punjab Assembly Secretariat.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has given four names for the committee members. The names are Rana Sanaullah, Mian Mujtaba Shujaur Rehman and Iqbal Chantar, whereas, the opposition in the Punjab Assembly, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has nominated Shaukat Basra, Zulfikar Gondal and Chaudhry Zaheeruddin for the panel.

Earlier on Saturday, the PPP withdrew the names of Mian Amer Mahmood and Hafeez Akhtar Randhawa for the position of Punjab’s caretaker chief minister and proposed the names of renowned political analyst Najam Sethi along with that of Justice (retd) Zahid Hussain.

Mian Amer Mahmood is a former Lahore Nazim and owner of a media group and Hafeez Akhtar Randhawa is a former Punjab chief secretary.

The deadline for reaching a consensus on a name for the province’s caretaker chief minister was to expire at midnight on Saturday. In case of deadlock between the government and the opposition on the issue of appointing a caretaker chief minister of the province, the matter is likely to be delegated to the parliamentary committee.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes
Baich Day - Buy and Sell Classified Ads Site in Pakistan

About Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top